Hi folks. I'm new and in search of help and inspiration

Welcome, how can we help ?
please add your town/camper/vehicle to profile please Ta
Bradders

Hi folks. I'm new and in search of help and inspiration

October 17th, 2021, 12:24 am

Hi folks,

I am a complete newbie and a novice to the world of demountable campers, but it's always good to talk, so here I am.

I currently have a VW T5, LWB 4motion which I converted to a camper about 12 months ago (and it's for sale). Since then I have had a bit of a shift in thinking and am now looking to buy a Land Rover Defender 130 (anyone selling?) and put a Four Wheel pop-up camper on the back of it. I have considered North Star, but the design is not what I'm looking for and the build quality doesn't seem great.

The problem is, these seem to be non-existent on the second hand market, and very expensive from the Four Wheel Camper importers in Germany (approx £40,000 not including import duty) when compared to how much they sell for in the US (approx £25,000). There is also a two year wait from placing the order to delivery, although having said that, there is also a 12 month wait for new ones in the US apparently.

It would seem that a possible solution is to go over to the US, buy one and ship it back. It would hopefully be cheaper and certainly quicker, especially as the second-hand market is bigger over there.

Now, am I just being naive here or is there any mileage in my line of thinking? Has anyone even done this before? Better still is anyone selling one in the UK? Now that would be the answer to my prayers.

Any advice will be gratefully received.

Bradders

zildjian
Site Admin

Re: Hi folks. I'm new and in search of help and inspiration

October 17th, 2021, 7:37 am

Good morning Bradders & welcome.

Jens is the Four Wheel importer as I understand in Germany along with a handful of other manufacturers, all of which
are offering long lead-in times currently,